Christmas baking

Today was filled with lots of Christmas baking. I made Christmas cookies and chocolate brownies for us to take to our local hospital. I know Baby Bear is only young, but I’ve been trying to show him the importance of giving, especially around Christmas time. I decided we would take the baked goodies to the hospital partially because they were so good to Baby Bear and I when we were in hospital for 10 days last year, and partially because my Mum works there and it was an easy introduction to giving for Baby Bear. We also gave some to my Dad and my sister to both share with their work colleagues on Monday.

20131207-222651.jpg
This is the cookie recipe I used. It is from a Coles magazine from a few years ago. The only difference is that I make a whole bunch of different Christmas shapes instead of just doing Christmas wreaths. Baby Bear had a lot of fun helping me decorate them – and he ate a few in the process too.

20131207-223159.jpg

20131207-223611.jpg
This is the brownie recipe I used. I have a silicone Christmas tree mould tray that I used, instead of a big pan. I was a little worried if it was actually going to work or not, because the moulds are really small, but it turned out really well! I did change the cooking time on the recipe to 10-15 minutes instead.

20131207-223924.jpg

20131207-223936.jpg
I can’t wait until Baby Bear is old enough to fully participate in baking with me. It will be so much fun! He does like to help now, but is more a hindrance than a help at the moment. It is still nice to have a little (sort of) helper in the kitchen with me. What Christmas goodies are you baking with your kids?

Leave a comment